It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:40 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:07 am
Posts: 2
I installed Classic Windows Shell because (for some unknown reason), I lost the functionality of the Start Menu (and associated Volume & Calendar functions) - I could right-click on the Start Button, but no response from left-click. Now when I want to check the Settings, I am unable to access it - the link button does nothing - neither does right-clicking it. I have no way to access the Settings menu or Windows Update.

Unlike the other post, HyperV is not involved and a re-boot did not help.

Any ideas? (I've already done a fresh install of build 1709, and that didn't help).

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
If your menu was not working before installing Classic Shell, then there's something screwy with your system. Possibly another software you have installed is interfering? Or a hardware issue?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:07 am
Posts: 2
No idea. That's why I installed ClassicShell, as someone on another forum said it would be an effective workaround for the problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1849
it solves your start menu problem by replacing it..
it wont solve your settings problem... for that you need to fix whats wrong with windows.. sfc /scannow in command prompt(admin) is a start


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.