It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 4:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 116
Hi, my feature request is 3 or more columns in the start menu. This would be useful for adding more things to the start menu. Column_Break could make a 3rd column, possibly more. There is a menu that I'd like to make, but it requires a 3rd column.
Thanks for reading! =) -Red.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1977
Its been suggested and discussed several times, sadly its probably not going to happen :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:03 pm
Posts: 116
Oh. Well, thanks for your reply anyways, its much appreciated =)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 10:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5351
I would love this too for Windows 7 style! 3 or more columns would allow pinning a far greater number of items without reducing the Frequently used items. It will also make better use of the screen space horizontally.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 6:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
...do tiles count as additional columns? ._.

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 7:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5351
Well tiles have more limitations imposed by Microsoft:
- Tiles don't have jumplists. Although Classic Shell "Large icons" as Tiles could have them
- Tiles take up way too much space at the Medium/Large size but cannot display essential textual names at Small size. The Classic Shell implementation if done could be different from Microsoft's though in this regard too.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 7:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Happens that Start9 can address atleast the latter issue:


And I'm still trying to figure out how to Jump Lists...no luck so far, but Classic Shell proves that it's possible, so...there's hope :V

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.