It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 227
In Windows the Classic start menu at least in Classic theme appears not on the top of taskbar but immediately on the top of the Start button. It is also shifted to the right from the screen edge, matching the Start Button as well. Can an option be added to position the Start menu exactly like Windows does it?

Also notice the focus rectangle that exists in Windows:


Attachments:
Windows_95_Start_menu[1].png
Windows_95_Start_menu[1].png [ 3.3 KiB | Viewed 9873 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
You seem to be using a custom theme that may be adding an extra edge to the taskbar. It may be tricking the start menu into positioning in the wrong spot. You may have to edit the skin and play with some padding to compensate.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Ivo wrote:
You seem to be using a custom theme that may be adding an extra edge to the taskbar. It may be tricking the start menu into positioning in the wrong spot. You may have to edit the skin and play with some padding to compensate.

...IIUC, this is actually the exact opposite - that's a screenshot of Windows 95. Anixx was asking if Classic Shell could have an option to replicate the Start Menu positioning shown above.

Actually, that kinda reminds me of that time a while ago when I asked about having the Start Menu overlap the Taskbar completely...how about killing 2 birds with one stone with a Menu Position Offset setting of some sort? :lol:

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The menu is intentionally behind the taskbar, because otherwise the shadow will look weird.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Ivo wrote:
The menu is intentionally behind the taskbar, because otherwise the shadow will look weird.


I know this is kinda trivial, but it'd be nice to have an option to change that to facilitate the other setting I mentioned. Think of the theming possibilities...

Also the shadow was on top of the taskbar in some builds Windows Longhorn (and XP too?) :lol:

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Windows Vista seems to be the only OS to have Classic Start Menu without overlapping the Taskbar.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 227
Ivo wrote:
The menu is intentionally behind the taskbar, because otherwise the shadow will look weird.


This is Windows XP, here we can see the shadow, but I would not call it weird, it seems nice to me:



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 5:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 227
So is it possible to make it work as on the WinXP picture above?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
No. The start menu appears behind the taskbar when the taskbar is horizontal.
You can adjust the precise positioning of the menu (behind the taskbar) by creating a background image with transparent padding.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Also, since Windows 7, there are large taskbar icons which almost touch the top edge of the horizontal taskbar. If the menu overlapped the taskbar, it will end up touching those icons.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 227
My request was to make the start menu looking exactly like in Windows, like I was accustomed to. Additionally, positioning of start menu over the start button creates an increased 3D push effect. I have just checked Windows 7 and, indeed its start menu is positioned like it is currently done in Classic Shell, but I dislike this look. It is regrettable this option cannot be implemented.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1985
If you think about what is said here:

Quote:
You seem to be using a custom theme that may be adding an extra edge to the taskbar.

You might realize there is an alternative route to acomplish what you are looking for, IE use classic shell to make the taskbar clear, and then add a slightly larger taskbar behind it via editing the background (or in rain-meter if you frequently change desktop backgrounds, Note: with rainmeter you can slightly alter the desktop work area so maximized windows will conform to your new/larger taskbar too)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Jcee wrote:
If you think about what is said here:

Quote:
You seem to be using a custom theme that may be adding an extra edge to the taskbar.

You might realize there is an alternative route to acomplish what you are looking for, IE use classic shell to make the taskbar clear, and then add a slightly larger taskbar behind it via editing the background (or in rain-meter if you frequently change desktop backgrounds, Note: with rainmeter you can slightly alter the desktop work area so maximized windows will conform to your new/larger taskbar too)


a) That makes the Taskbar Bigger, and the buttons can't be enlarged accordingly
b) Skinning doesn't work with the Classic Theme
c) That wouldn't help my desire to have the Start Menu completely overlap the Taskbar

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2016 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 227
Jcee wrote:
If you think about what is said here:

Quote:
You seem to be using a custom theme that may be adding an extra edge to the taskbar.

You might realize there is an alternative route to acomplish what you are looking for, IE use classic shell to make the taskbar clear, and then add a slightly larger taskbar behind it via editing the background (or in rain-meter if you frequently change desktop backgrounds, Note: with rainmeter you can slightly alter the desktop work area so maximized windows will conform to your new/larger taskbar too)


That comment was very much off. It is based on another topic where I participated and indeed there was a shift caused by a third-party program, but not any more now. And, if you want to make the menu position lower adding a thicker taskbar skin would not help: it will make the position higher. And, it will not make the menu overlap the taskbar. And, this does not work in Classic theme anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.