It is currently Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:39 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 11
I'm using Classic Start 4.2.1 on a newly upgraded Win 10 PC.

The Windows apps are not showing in the apps menu and I can't find an option in the settings to show them.

They show on the Apps menu on my other computer that still has Win 8.1.

What am I missing?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
A new version will be released in the next couple of days and will fix this problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:50 am
Posts: 11
Just installed version 4.2.4.

Works like a charm!

Thanks Classic Shell. You are the best thing that has happened to Windows 8 and Windows 10!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:54 am
Posts: 46
Stupid question: How do I get metro apps back to the start menu?
Ages ago I had a submenu with metro apps, which I disabled, but I forgot how. How do I get them back?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1983
Right click the start button, go to settings, in the search box type 'apps' and check ''Show Apps menu" Press OK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
To show Metro apps in the main menu right column (Windows 7 style menu), go to the Customize Start Menu tab of Settings and enable them from there.

To show them inside the All Programs submenu, "Show Metro apps" setting on the Main Menu tab will do the trick.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:54 am
Posts: 46
Jcee wrote:
Right click the start button, go to settings, in the search box type 'apps' and check ''Show Apps menu" Press OK

Thanks. It was somewhat complicated to find because I had the CSM localized. It turns out it was enabled. :)
I could have swear it was under the programs menu previously now it's actually in it at the end of it.

GauravK wrote:
To show Metro apps in the main menu right column (Windows 7 style menu), go to the Customize Start Menu tab of Settings and enable them from there.

To show them inside the All Programs submenu, "Show Metro apps" setting on the Main Menu tab will do the trick.

It looks like it's in the special items (or whatever) menu instead.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.