It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 5:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
I am making changes (fromWin7 style to XP or Vista) start menu), and the Classic Start Menu settings records and remembers my change; but when I go back to the start orb, the start menu remains the Win7 style.

I have looked for the Classic Shell service in the services.msc window, but nothing is there--there is no classic shell service running.

What should I do? I just reinstalled this program a few minutes ago.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 4:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
The Classic Shell service is not present in recent versions of Classic Shell as it's no longer required.

After you make any changes, click the OK button to save them.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 7:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
I'm selecting the Classic style start menu; I hit OK. In fact, CS even remembers my selection. But each time I go to the start menu, it is the Win7 style.

I'm not seeing any window advising a reboot. Is that necessary?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 7:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Can you upload a screenshot please of the menu you are getting? To take a screenshot, press the Printscreen key and then paste the output into Paint and save the file.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
I assume you meant a screenshot of the start menu (and not the CS settings window). I have linked to it here. My screenshots are gigantic when uploaded as attachments.

Trouble embedding the link: http://paulrittman.com/Screenshot.png



[url=paulrittman.com/Screenshot.png]paulrittman.com/Screenshot.png[/url]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Save your settings to XML file (from the Backup button in the settings) and attach it here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
OK I've attached it.


Attachments:
Menu Settings.xml [985 Bytes]
Downloaded 405 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 9:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Your left click and Windows key are set to open the Windows Start Menu. From Start Menu settings -> Controls tab, set them to open Classic Start Menu.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
GauravK wrote:
Your left click and Windows key are set to open the Windows Start Menu. From Start Menu settings -> Controls tab, set them to open Classic Start Menu.


That did it. Thanks. I kept my shift-click to open the Windows start menu, in case I want to tinker there for any reason, but the methods you identified, to open the Classic start menu.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 9:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
Just a word to the wise: if you want to tinker around and change one style (of start menu) to another, back up your settings first. I'm glad I did just now, b/c after switching from classic xp to vista to 7 start menu, my pinned programs were gone. A restore of that XML file brought them right back.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 10:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The pinned programs default to using the "Start Menu" folder for the Classic style (for historical reasons), and to using the new "Pinned" folder for the Windows 7 style. That's why if you switch the styles the pinned programs change. To stop that toggle the "Pinned Programs folder" setting to make it bold. This means the setting is fixed and won't change with the style.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:01 pm
Posts: 46
OK. Did that.

FWIW, I just found out that you can search for a setting, instead of looking through each tab. For a utility with so many options (perhaps making it no longer a utility), that's helpful.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.