It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 2:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Classic menu disappered
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:36 am
Posts: 3
I have installed the classic menu on my new W8 , and i worked fine for about 1 week.

Today when starting up my computer , the classic button down on the left side was not there anymore.

I removed the classic shell , and tried to reinstall it.
It did not work , I got this message:




I even tried to install 3.64 - 3.63 - 3.62 and got the same message.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Looks like your Windows Installer is damaged. From an elevated (admin) command prompt, run: SFC /scannow and let it complete. Restart if it says so, then try running Classic Shell setup again. Check in Services.msc if Windows Installer service is running.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:36 am
Posts: 3
I ran the SFC/scannow. It took some time , but it is okay.
It did not ask me to restart.

Then I checked the Windows installer , and it is running.

I restated the computer , but the same error message popped up again.

I then tried to install a lot of other programs , and they installed perfectly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
This message is shown by the installer if it cannot locate msiexec.exe. Is it possible it is not in the path? A damaged path setting can cause all sorts of problems. Maybe it was the cause of the initial problem before uninstalling.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:36 am
Posts: 3
I found a way that works.

When trying to reinstall, I rather tried this :




"Feilsøk kompabilitet" is in Norwegian , and means something like " scan for compatibility error"
After fixing that error , I could install the Classic Shell again.

Thanks for the help :D


Edit: Maybe one reason to the problems could be that W8 made some updates 1 days ago ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Btw Classic Shell only includes translation for toolbar labels, the Explorer UI and the start menu items. If you are interested in fully translating Classic Shell to Norwegian (like the settings UI etc), let us know here.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.