It is currently Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:18 am
Posts: 2
I would like to have the feature back to Pin recently used programs to the Startmenu in Windows 8 like in Windows 7.

Thanks for this great piece of Software.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
You can pin the programs you need most frequently to the Start Menu by simply dragging and dropping them.
In Classic Shell 4, pinning via right click was implemented for EXEs and shortcuts.

For Classic Shell 3.6.x, there is not a "Pin To" in the context menu but you can add it yourself to the right click menu by following the instructions here: http://www.classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=61 You can modify that registry tweak for 4.0 too to get some extra pinning ability such as pinning to other locations besides the Start Menu folder or pinning any file type or folder, not just EXEs and shortcuts.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:18 am
Posts: 2
Thank you, thats what I'm looking for..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
I wish pinning was supported as well. Pinned items can have automatic submenus provided by the program. For example when you pin Remote Desktop Connection, the submenu has all the recent machines you connected to. Firefox shows your frequently visited sites and tasks.

I just installed Classic Start Menu on win7 and I'm already finding I miss the tons of things I've pinned. If possible, CSM should read from the same source as where all the normally pinned items are recorded so it can seamlessly integrate with the original start menu. And it should support those submenus.

If you like, I can start another thread for this more all-encompassing suggestion.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
@jep, this feature already exists even if the method of pinning is not the same as the one used by Windows 7 (read in that tutorial why). If you follow the link above to the tutorial where it explains how you can add a 'Pin to Start Menu' item to the context menu, then for such 'pinned' programs, the jump list (automatic submenu) appears. You will of course have to pin the items again, Windows 7 pinned items won't be carried over. :)

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
Ah, okay. I read that but thought it wouldn't have the submenus. Thanks. It still would be quite slick for it to be able to use the central pinned items location, though. Less hassle for people making the switch. Not fun re-pinning all those items. X)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Using the Windows 7 pinned location will never happen, for 3 reasons. First, this is a different menu with its own settings and can potentially fit different number if items. Second, the Windows 7 menu may not like it when some other software edits its pinned programs behind its back. That's exactly what will happen if you start editing the pinned items in Classic Shell. And lastly, there is no Windows 7 pinned location on Windows 8, and the start menu must work on Windows 8 as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
Makes sense. Though on the last one I'd simply say you wouldn't have to use the same location on every OS. But anyway, yeah, that explanation otherwise makes sense and I'm satisfied. Thanks for answering.

Just one more thing - how about a pinned locations import in Windows 7? :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Currently this is not possible because the "pinned" items you see are the contents of the main Start Menu folder. These items are put there by Windows and by some installers. This is the "classic way".

If one day the Classic Shell menu starts supporting proper pinning, then it will be possible to import the currently pinned programs as a one-time process.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
And by that time Win7 will probably be long gone and it'll be a moot point! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Writing a feature to import the pinned items isn't worth it IMHO because the user can effortlessly re-create them for Classic Start Menu by drag and drop or using that tutorial tools. How many pinned items you have, can't be more than 20. The advantage of Classic Start Menu's style (of showing Start menu folder shortcuts) as pseudo-"pinned" items is that you can back up the shortcuts forever and restore them by copy-paste.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
That's not really "effortless", though. If you want people to switch to CSM on Win7, I think it's worth it to grease the wheels.

But I'll leave it at that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Well good news for you guys, the latest beta version of Classic Shell (linked from the home page) has true pinning. Try it if you're interested.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:21 pm
Posts: 1
Hey, thanks for including the pinning feature in the latest version. This is really a needed feature.
________________________________
Outlook Tech Support
outlooksetting.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:40 am
Posts: 3
GauravK wrote:
Well good news for you guys, the latest beta version of Classic Shell (linked from the home page) has true pinning. Try it if you're interested.


If you would be so kind, could you explain the difference between "true pinning" and what Classic Shell was doing before? Since this a somewhat old thread I'm probably running the one with "true pinning" so I never used what it had before (I'm running version 4.1.0).

Thanks in advance,

Scott


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1986
the difference was in the steps required, you used to have to drop a shortcut into the start menu rather than right click and 'pin to start menu'


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pin to Startmenu
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
By 'true pinning' I meant the pinning feature is implemented in the new version using a shell extension. In the earlier tweak I showed, it used a command line tool and registry-based context menu verb.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.