It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 6:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:26 pm
Posts: 5
My system and software:
Windows 7 64-bit
NVidia GTX 980
Classic Shell version: 4.3.0
Windowblinds version: 10

So yes, I'm using Classic Shell and Windowblinds together. I love them both!!
But I have an odd quirk with the start menu.

I generally use CSM with Classic Style start menu. I love the cascading menus from the old WinXP days...
However, what I would *really* like, is to be able to use the real Windows Start Menu, but force it into cascading-menus format.
Of course, if I use CSM, I get the cascading menus that I want, but it's with the CSM skin (somewhat modified by Windowblinds).

I've been cruising along with this, and been pretty happy; I *still* love CSM, but the rest of my windows are *soooo* beautiful!! I wish I could use them on Start Menu, yet still get the cascading menus... not the end of the world, but it would be nice...

Okay, I told you that so I could tell you this...
Every once in awhile, an odd thing happens - somehow, I'll get the desktop into a mode where when I right-click on the Start Menu, I'll get the original start menu (*not* the CSM), but when I click on Programs, I get cascading menus !!!! Exactly what I want - except that I don't know what makes that happen... ??? After a couple of menu clicks, Start Menu goes back to normal CSM operation, and right-click on the Start button displays the Classic Shell config menu.

Well, I've noticed an odd thing at the moment. Right now, if I click on the desktop, then press SPACE, then right-click on the Start button, I get exactly what I want - the traditional Start Menu, but with cascading Program menus.
Later note: no, that's stopped happening, right-click on the Start button is giving the Classic Shell config menu again.

So what is going on?? Is there some way I can make right-click *always* give me the traditional Start Menu, but with cascading Program menus?? This is *very* confusing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Yes, Classic Shell can replace the All Programs menu in the Windows 7 start menu and make it cascading. It is controlled by the setting "Cascading All Programs menu" in the "Windows Start Menu" tab.

The "Right click opens the Windows context menu" setting in the "Controls" tab determines what happens if you right-click on the start button.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:26 pm
Posts: 5
Oh... My... God... !!!!!

That was *exactly* what I wanted!!!

CSM is simply magical... I've been using it for more years than I can remember, and still only use a tiny bit of its capabilities !!!

Thank You...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.