It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 3:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 3:11 am
Posts: 1
I am a Windows Insider...and get MSFT updates to Windows 10.

The latest, installed automatically last night, prevents Classic Shell from running.

Windows 10's security platform stops Classic Shell from running, saying it's a security risk.

Classic Shell developers: talk to Microsoft about this.

...and do it fast.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 11:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Rename the installer and install it. Or wait for an updated release which will be out soon.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 9:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
There is a new version 4.2.6 beta that should work just fine with the Insider builds.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
Thanks for the new version.
It must be inconvenient to keep up with all these insider builds, but it seems to be the new "reality", so thanks again for allowing us to test them, without having to miss out on our beloved Classic Start Menu!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2016 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
Woops, spoke too soon, installed 4.2.6 on clean 14342edu32, things are not working correctly: the screen keeps flickering, looks like ClassicShell is continually restarting or something...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 12:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Can you capture a crash dump? Instructions are at the top of this page.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
I used the "HKLM" method to make the dumps, from the zip info it looks like all the dumps are identical, not sure if they're something useful in there...
Please let me know if you want me to try other stuff, I have plenty of test laptops around.


Attachments:
000.7z [1.51 MiB]
Downloaded 160 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 4:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
Tested with 14342 x86 Enterprise as well now, exactly the same problem: Constant explorer restarts/ flashing screen (looks like CS gets killed as soon as it appears).
Has nobody else tested this? EDIT: 4.2.5 is fine (after renaming the installer, of course).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 11:22 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Yes, there appears to be a problem on 32-bit Windows 10. How did you manage to recover? I want to post instructions for other people affected by this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
Well, I like to play around with PE, disk imagers, automatic postinstall, software testing etc., so for me it was a "fun" (ahem) project, but of course it's too bad that there is a problem with the new beta.

My first "recovery" was a quick restore of a disk image, but then in a later test I tried to recover from the flashing (and somewhat entertaining) explorer crashes by hitting ctrl-sh-esc and trying to kill the ClassicStartmenu process fast enough before a new entry appeared in the list, and/or the task manager lost focus. In this case it was a good thing I tested on a slow computer... :o

Seriously, not a very practical way of "recovery", so I really hope you can find the problem soon.

I am still a very happy ClassicShell user, so hopefully on to the next beta soon!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 12:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
I found the problem. There was a wrong calling convention for some Windows function that only causes problems on 32-bit Windows 10.
Try this new installer: http://www.mediafire.com/download/7hvdd ... _4_2_7.exe


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
Wow, that was fast...
Good thing I kept the disk image (14342ent32), I could test within a few minutes. Looking good, problem gone!!!
Now I will replace 4.2.5 with 4.2.7 in my PostInst and test that, so one more image restore and this whole thing was fixed in just one day!
You are a genuis, sir... :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2016 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 11:16 am
Posts: 21
Yep, I could also remove the "if build >=14316, rename installer" part from my PostInstall thingy, so looking pretty good!!!
Really like the easy taskbar color change option!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.