It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 4:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.

Post subject: Administrative Tools
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:20 am 

First post, don't kill me if this is in the wrong place or considered a dup.

Classic shell is excellent and as a consultant I've found it in use by many companies large and
small and even national labs.

"Administrative Tools" is showing up under Programs for all users on a computer, disregarding the
windows option to hide/show it (default is to hide). This is confusing for general users. IMO Classic
Shell was designed specifically to help avoid user confusion, giving them the option to stay in their
"comfort zone".

I've read and confirmed that using the windows Hidden attribute can be used. However, both user
and global folders must be hidden, and hiding the global folder requires admin privilege. This approach
hides "Administrative Tools" for all users, even if they want to see it. Some administrative tools can be
of use by non-administrators, so I'm asking that CSM honor the windows settings for administrative
tools, probably all the options for where to show it.

Thanks for considering this.

Post subject: Re: Administrative Tools
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:23 am 
Site Admin

There is no Windows setting regarding Administrative Tools. There is one in the start menu settings, but they only apply to the Windows start menu.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:44 am