It is currently Fri Aug 07, 2020 11:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
Desktop icons blink when the cursor is on the top of the screen if the corners are disabled.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5353
Good catch and thanks for reporting. I can reproduce the bug. Are you running 32-bit or 64-bit Windows 8?

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
Windows 8 32-bit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 7:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
same bug here, except i think it happens more often when i just close a window (when the last active window is nolonger active)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:12 am
Posts: 2
Same here.

Win 8 64 bit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
I was unable to reproduce this on Win8 64-bit. Do you have to do something special with the cursor, or just leave it at the top of the screen?

misterwolfie: can you export your settings to XML file and attach it here?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
mine happens when i first start up w8 mostly, and without anything besides classic shell that would affect it (i had just classic shell, and google chrome, and fully updated w8 with nothing bundled; when i first noticed the bug on this machine), the one when i close the last window seems to be gone, atleast on this computer


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
Maybe

a blink is not

visible

on a high-end

PC. I have netbook 1024*600 Intel Atom N455 (1,66 GHg with GPU integrated).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1990
Now ive got an i5 quad with 3.4ghz with 16gb ddr3 ram and an ssd, i still see the blink
my old system was a 8-core 1.7ghz server with 8gb ram, a graphics card, hacked into its pcie-x4 slot

and i still see it


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5353
Btw it only happens if all active corners are disabled.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:12 am
Posts: 2
All I have to do is bring my cursor to the top of the screen and so long as there isn't the edge of a window up there, all the icons start flashing.
This happens even if there are other windows onscreen with focus or not.

It doesn't happen if a window edge is covering the top of the desktop becuase the cursor changes to a the cursor for changing window size.

I hope the following is what you wanted:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Settings component="StartMenu" version="3.6.5">
<DefaultMenuStyle value="Classic"/>
<Computer value="Hide"/>
<Documents value="Hide"/>
<ControlPanel value="Menu"/>
<LogOff value="0"/>
<RecentPrograms value="0"/>
<SearchBox value="Normal"/>
<Skin1 value="Classic Skin"/>
<SkinVariation1 value=""/>
<SkinOptions1 value="DA60029A|E55CEDD2|BD80CDB3|C26EAF5C|86F3669C|5225DC46|5D3248DD|E87963C2|80316ABE|"/>
<DisableHotCorner value="DisableAll"/>
<StartButtonType value="MetroButton"/>
</Settings>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
I saw that stardock somehow solved this problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:40 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Maybe they did, but I can't do that until I can reproduce the problem. And it works fine for me on multiple machines.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
Now more thoroughly tested ClassicShell 3.6.8 - is only the icons are flashing between the first installation and the logoff system or reboot. Next do not blink - and thank you for that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:40 am
Posts: 1
To me Desktop Icons are flashing also after 3.6.8 update and also after rebooting, but I've found a solution... At least it works for me...

Right Click on Computer --> Properties --> Advanced System Settings --> Advanced (Tab) --> Settings button (under Performance)

In "Visual Effects" Tab go for custom and untick "Animate controls and elements inside windows"
After applying, wherever I place the cursor icons do not flash anymore...

Hope this help also in tracking down the problem...

Bye.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:08 am
Posts: 2
I can confirm the issue is not fixed in latest version. Icons still flash if I put the cursor to the top of the screen (only when all active corners are disabled)

Also Logharn's fix worked for me, although now animations are disabled as a result.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
Not yet possible to select an area of the screen from the top pixels.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
What area is that? What are your "hot corner" settings?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:21 am
Posts: 60
Win 8.1, disabled all corners, cursor does not expand the selection of the top pixels.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.