It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:37 am
Posts: 2
I'd like to know if it's possible to create a custom toolbar button to open a specific folder.

So far, after browsing through the forum, I've figured out how to create a toolbar button that links to any of the system folders. However, that custom button actually isn't a button but a drop-down menu. For example, I now know how to create a toolbar 'button' that is actually a drop-down menu for my 'Links' (windows explorer favorites). The button has a drop-down arrow to the right of it. Clicking the button itself does nothing. Clicking the drop-down arrow shows me all of my 'Links' items and then clicking on one of those Links items opens the corresponding folder in Explorer.

However, what I'd really like is an actual button that when clicked opens a specific folder in Explorer. Not a drop-down menu of the folder's contents, but just take me to that folder.

I want to create a dozen or so of these buttons, one for each of the folders I'm interested in. Note that the folders I'm interested in are not system folders.

Is this possible?

I'm on Win7 64-bit, in case it matters.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
You can create a new custom button with the command "open <the folder>".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:37 am
Posts: 2
Thanks, Ivo. So simple, yet I couldn't figure it out for the life of me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
The command is there in the list of toolbar commands but it just says "Open". Maybe it could say "Open folder". The localized text for that is in shell32.dll.mui -> menu resource -> 402 -> MenuItem 517.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.