It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:31 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
I'd like to add a custom button to empty the Recycle Bin.

I've added the following code to the Registry:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\CLSID\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}\shell\empty\command]
"DelegateExecute"=""
@="nircmd.exe emptybin"

What should be the syntax in Classic Explorer -> custom button?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Windows doesn't have a command line process to empty the Recycle Bin but you can use bin.exe from here: http://www.maddogsw.com/cmdutils/ or emptyrecyclebin.exe from here: http://www.optimumx.com/downloads.html#EmptyRecycleBin

Disclaimer: Classic Shell does not bear any responsibility for third party software recommendations.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thank you. I appreciate your help.

With your help in another post, I've written the following script in AutoHotkey:
#NoTrayIcon
FileRecycleEmpty
SoundPlay, %A_WinDir%\Media\Windows Recycle.wav, wait


I could have used one of your links or "nircmd.exe emptybin".
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html

My question is how to use the parameter "emptybin" in Classic Explorer -> Custom toolbar button (Command or Link).
(I prefer the script. I'm just curious as to using parameters in CS).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Oh ok great! If you're a pro with AutoHotkey, then it's even better as it won't show a console window. :D

You enter the parameters right after the executable path in the Command field. Make sure you enclose the path in double quotes and then enter the parameters. e.g.
"C:\Windows\Nircmd.exe" emptybin

You can also use %1, %2 etc. %1 is the path of the current folder. Keep in mind that if the current folder is a root of a drive it will end with a backslash (like C:\) %2 is the path of the selected file (only when a single file is selected). Rest of them are documented in the help file.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:01 pm
Posts: 66
Thanks again for the detailed explanation. Great!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.