It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:56 am
Posts: 3
I added a second "Delete" button to Classic Explorer bar,
and I want to change its function to "Delete permanently" as Shift+Del.

What changes are needed or how to configure it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
There is no built-in command for Shift+Delete but there is a solution based on AutoHotkey: (AutoHotkey is a free scripting/automation software that lets you define custom keyboard hotkeys etc)Short explanation:
1. Just download the attached ZIP file attached to this post, extract the EXE.

2. AutoHotkey compiled EXE scripts are not compatible with Windows Defender/Microsoft Security Essentials and cause them to consume large amounts of CPU which nearly makes Windows hang for long periods of time. It is a bug in Defender/MSE. You will either need to disable Defender/MSE completely from its options and use another anti-malware, or you can go to Defender settings and add exclusions for this EXE and/or its path. Excluding this EXE from scanning will prevent the hanging issue.

3. After excluding this in Defender/MSE, create a custom command toolbar button on the Classic Explorer toolbar that links to the EXE. It will send Shift+Delete instead of regular Delete.


Extra technical explanation which you can skip reading:

I have basically made a simple AutoHotkey-based script. (Go here to learn what is AutoHotkey in case you are not familiar: http://www.autohotkey.com/) The script sends Shift+Delete keystrokes. It's one of the simplest one liner Autohotkey scripts:
Send,{Shift down}{Del}{Shift up}

I have compiled the plain text script (.AHK extension) into an EXE file using AutoHotkey's AHK2EXE compiler. If you don't trust random EXEs, you can decompile the EXE using EXE2AHK to see the original script: http://www.autohotkey.com/download/Exe2Ahk.exe.


Attachments:
ShiftDel.zip [208.25 KiB]
Downloaded 261 times

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
You can make a batch file that deletes the selected files. You can start from the CopyParent.bat example in the help and replace the "copy" command with "del"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:56 am
Posts: 3
Thanks for replies GauravK and Ivo,
I opted for GauravK 's ZIP file attached to the post,
using ShiftDel.exe being easier for me.

Yes, it's working ! Many thanx !



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:20 am
Posts: 1
The original file no always worked correctly . He moved some often files to the Trash instead permanently . That's why I modified the script . I added delays between keystrokes and I used the latest AutoHotkey 64bit. Now everything is working properly.
I attach the new .exe file. ;)


Attachments:
ShiftDel_new.zip [479.95 KiB]
Downloaded 79 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:56 am
Posts: 3
juwa wrote:
I used the latest AutoHotkey 64bit.



Does it work on Windows 8 32 bit?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:14 pm
Posts: 2
When you're creating the Delete Permanently option is there any way to retrieve said file if it was done by accident?

Also communicating with talktobabes support has given me some recovery options.


Last edited by MikeGicask on Thu May 04, 2017 9:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
You may have some luck with some third party undelete utility. They can scan your drive for remnants of deleted files.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
MikeGicask wrote:
When you're creating the Delete Permanently option is there any way to retrieve said file if it was done by accident?



One of the well known freeware tools to undelete is Recuva (https://www.piriform.com/recuva).

Disclaimer: Anything that happens to your PC from usage of third party tools recommended in this forum is your own responsibility.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.