It is currently Mon Jul 13, 2020 5:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:57 am
Posts: 10
I have Classic Shell 4.3.0, in Win 10 Pro. It has been working fine for a few years. But recently, the "recent programs" section is empty.

The "Start Menu Style" in Settings is "Classic with two columns"

Previously, when I clicked "Start", I could see, from top to bottom in left column:

- 4 pinned programs
- About 6 recently used programs
- "Programs"
- "Apps"

Now, there's an empty gap between the pinned programs and "Programs". As a result the height of the Start menu is clearly less than normal.

I would be grateful for advice on how to restore the recently used programs.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1180
Recent items and jumplists seem to be tied to one another in CSM and Win 10 Start settings.

I would check that jumplist setting on Windows 10 Personalize Start settings
and CSM jumplist settings, and Recent programs settings are enabled correctly.


Attachments:
CSM and Win 10 Start settings.png
CSM and Win 10 Start settings.png [ 26.4 KiB | Viewed 2137 times ]
1st and 2nd column context menus.png
1st and 2nd column context menus.png [ 93.34 KiB | Viewed 2137 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:57 am
Posts: 10
@juniper7, Your screenshot for "Main Menu" tab shows "Recent Progams" selected.

But I had "Frequent programs" selected.

When I reversed these two selections, I got my previous Start menu back. All very mysterious - I don't think I've changed these options for years.

Anyway, thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 1:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 1180
I guess sometime recently your settings got reset somehow?

The "Frequent programs" is the default setting.
For me, I never liked it so I changed it at some point.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.