It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Transfer to new computer
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:09 am
Posts: 4
I have Classic Shell v4.0.2 on my Windows 8.1 computer and I am about to purchase a new Windows 10 computer.

In advance I have purchased v4.3.1 of Classic Shell and am wondering if it is possible to migrate my old setup via the Backup option to the new computer after Classic Shell is installed there.


Russell Darling


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 6:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1945
Yes, the easiest way is to right click your start button go to settings, then at the bottom you will see 'backup'
Save to .xml
then copy that to a flash drive (or email or whatever) and use it on your new system
NOTE: this will not save any 3rd party .skin files, taskbar backgrounds, or start buttons. (you have to manually transfer those too)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:09 am
Posts: 4
Thanks. It took quite a while four years ago to set up, so it is good to know that I can do a transfer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5331
Also this will not transfer the contents of the start menu. The start menu contents come from the list of the installed programs, and they will most likely be very different.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:09 am
Posts: 4
<<Also this will not transfer the contents of the start menu

I am confused now! Can you explain that a bit more with an example?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1945
when you click >all programs
the list will be different since you dont have the same programs on both computers
and your pinned items, along with recently used/frequently used


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:09 am
Posts: 4
Thanks - I will try a transfer when the time comes and see what happens!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.