It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:25 am
Posts: 3
Location: United Kingdom
Dunno if there's a topic for this already but I couldn't see it and all my efforts to search the forum resulted in it complaining about all the words being too common.

I like keeping my start menu nicely organised, and that includes using matching icons, which has worked perfectly for me in almost every way, but I can't seem to find a way to change the icon used for the Apps folder it kinda sticks out like a sore thumb now.

If anyone knows of a way to change that icon that'd be absolutely wonderful, thanks! :D


Attachments:
File comment: Just to show more exactly what it is I'm trying to change.
Start Menu.png
Start Menu.png [ 3.41 MiB | Viewed 388 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Check out this post: viewtopic.php?t=921

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:25 am
Posts: 3
Location: United Kingdom
That doesn't seem to help I'm afraid. I think was that for the Metro Apps button on the right side of the menu?
I'm using the Windows 7 based one, but the Metro Apps is the one accessed via the All Programs menu, only option in the settings regarding that one is just a 'Show Metro apps' tickbox. I tried changing the icon of the disabled one in the 'Customise Start Menu' tab to see if it pulled the icon from the same setting but it didn't do anything, even after enabling and disabling the tickbox.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
The icon is hard-coded to use resource ID 2 from ClassicStartMenuDLL.dll. You can potentially replace the icon in the DLL file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.