It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:19 pm
Posts: 2
I tried Classic Shell, decided I didn't care for it, uninstalled it (per the instructions in the FAQ), and now I have no Windows 10 apps (e.g., Settings, Photos, Edge, Calculator, etc.) in the Start menu. Clicking the Settings icon in the Start menu (just above the power button) does nothing.

This is after a restart.

Did trying out Classic Shell hose my vanilla Start menu...?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 5:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1847
It shouldn't have. what exactly happens when you click the start button? screenshot would be helpful if something pops up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Classic Shell does NOT do any permanent modification to Windows. In fact, its modifications are all in-memory and as soon as it is unloaded, Windows reverts to its default behavior. So whatever broke in your Windows - you can be 101% sure it is not Classic Shell.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:19 pm
Posts: 2
Jcee wrote:
It shouldn't have. what exactly happens when you click the start button? screenshot would be helpful if something pops up.


The Start menu would pop up, I'd click Settings, the Start menu would go away and Settings would never open.

I fixed it by running a PowerShell script that re-installs all of the default Metro apps.

I'll install it again and see if I can duplicate the issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.