It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Posts: 6
So I'm a long time StartIsBack user moving to Classic Shell because of all the settings and customization.
I'm a bit lay but I'm close to emulate the Windows 98 start menu pixel perfectly so I need help with something:


Any way I can add this 3 pixel border to the start menu? I know I can add it on the caption by changing the bitmap but what about the top border?


Attachments:
Border (Custom).jpg
Border (Custom).jpg [ 5.42 KiB | Viewed 907 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1845
Yes, but its not 'easy' http://www.classicshell.net/tutorials/skintutorial.html should get you started. alternatively, check the skins sub-forum to see if something close has been posted, or make a request (if the task of doing it yourself is too daunting)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Posts: 6
So, I've been messing with the skins for a couple of days and I've been doing fine but there's something I can't figure out
How do I change this 1 pixel grey border at the top:


To a 3 pixel border just like I was able to add on the caption, so it ends up looking like this:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1845
1. edit the .bmp file in photoshop to look different
2. edit the slices, to add more pixels to the outside layer:
http://www.classicshell.net/tutorials/s ... tml#slices
http://www.classicshell.net/tutorials/s ... #main_menu
3. save and add .skin to the skins folder
Or
attach the .skin in question here...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Posts: 6
Jcee wrote:
1. edit the .bmp file in photoshop to look different
2. edit the slices, to add more pixels to the outside layer:
http://www.classicshell.net/tutorials/s ... tml#slices
http://www.classicshell.net/tutorials/s ... #main_menu
3. save and add .skin to the skins folder
Or
attach the .skin in question here...



I've been trying to do that for a while now, but failed

I hope I'm not asking too much but could you do it for me?

PS: It's just the "Windows 98" variation, of course


Attachments:
Windows 98.skin [1.35 MiB]
Downloaded 32 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 1:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 941
This always confused me. :|
Comments from Jcee are good.
Here are some more.

If you are using the "Classic skin", the line or 2 lines are added automatically
the menu part of bitmap has 0 alpha channel, so it can be used in Classic theme on Windows 7.

I copied over what I found in the skin file:

; Main_thin_frame - use a thin 1-pixel frame instead of the thick 3D frame
; This parameter is only used in Classic mode, and when Main_opacity is "solid". Default is 0
Main_thin_frame=1

If you don't want to use a theme, maybe the only way is add this text to skin file:

Main_opacity=region

and edit the bitmap, to change the 0/255 alpha channel to 255/255 alpha.
The menu bitmap is 32 bit.
Another way, is convert to bitmap 24 bit( without the alpha channel),
Most cheapo photo programs might save it as 24 bit automatically.
You would need to add your own pixel lines to taste.

Just tried it with:

; Main_thin_frame - use a thin 1-pixel frame instead of the thick 3D frame
; This parameter is only used in Classic mode, and when Main_opacity is "solid". Default is 0
Main_thin_frame=0
Main_opacity=region


Oh, I see you uploaded your skin now. Well, I'll leave it up to you guys. :)


Attachments:
Grey line removed.png
Grey line removed.png [ 3.19 KiB | Viewed 860 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 2:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 941
In case you want to chop up and tailor an already made skin, see here:

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=6796


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1845
Ok, now I understand why you were having problems :P
This particular skin uses a color fill option for the main area, instead of stretching a bitmap (like 99% of other skins), its also overly complicated by all the options :P
but this is what I had to do:

1. open the first file in the skin, find 'Variation3=102,
Windows 98"
This tells me that this variation has its own variables applied after everything in this '1' file is read (also what bitmap to use)

2. we go to 102 (2 files down) and note that Main_bitmap=102
3. export bitmap 102
4. realize that bitmap 102 doesnt have any gray to its right, and thus something funky is up
5. ??? (lets call it magic, because i really duno what i did possibly nothing, it took about 15 minutes)
6. change the Main_bitmap_slices_X in file 1, (changing the last number from 0 to 3
7. change Main_bitmap_slices_Y in file 1 (changing the first number to 3)
8. compile
9. add 6 pixels to the height, and 3 to the width (and then edit the colors of said pixels)
10. import the new image, save and exit and throw into .skins folder
.

Here is the finished product, (I think, not a big win98 buff so it might need a few more tweaks, though that should be alot easier now, that the bitmap actually stretches how its suposed to)

PS I broke every other variation except the windows 98 one :P so if you want other versions from that skin, just save it with a new filename


Attachments:
Windows 98.skin [1.35 MiB]
Downloaded 33 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Posts: 6
Thank you Jcee, that's exactly what I had in mind.
I just did some tweaks to show the border only at the left and top side like in 98 but now it's perfect.
I appreciate the help


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1845
Glad I could help :P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Posts: 6
Jcee wrote:
Glad I could help :P



Hey Jc, I still for the love of god can't figure bitmap slices out

What numbers should I put in "Main_bitmap_slices_X" and "Main_bitmap_slices_Y"
for this new bitmap I made to work? (I just need the numbers)
Again, I need the 3 pixel (Grey and white) border to appear at the left and top side and the 2 pixel black and grey at the right side and bottom and the blue part as the caption of course

Sorry for the inconvenience...


Attachments:
File comment: Bitmap
bit.bmp
bit.bmp [ 25.26 KiB | Viewed 754 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1845
Yours is still 27 pixels wide, however it has blue lines to the left of the 'windows 98 text' thus we change the numbers:
from Main_bitmap_slices_X=21,1,1,0,1,3
to Main_bitmap_slices_X=22,1,1,0,1,2

Y slices really don't matter in this case because we still have 3 pixels on top, and on bottom for your image.
Reshacker can be a bit of a pain (especially the 'new' version, where even the search function is broke) also it cant save in your skins folder (I would suggest saving to desktop, and just dragging to the skins folder)
and remember anytime you edit the text in a skin you have to manually compile it, or its just saving the old version. (do this by selecting a different resource, then hitting 'yes' for the prompt asking to compile)

Here is that file, if you still cant figure it out:


Attachments:
Windows 98.skin [1.35 MiB]
Downloaded 29 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:00 pm
Posts: 6
Done! Thank you again for putting up with my shit :roll:

By the way I managed to get rid of that 1 pixel permanent grey border by changing Main_opacity from solid to region


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.