It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:13 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:23 am
Posts: 3
So, I might be a dumbass cause I can't figure it out how to change the color of the classic start menu and the little Windows 98 banner on the left side

Right now it looks like this:



I want it to look like this:




I'm on Windows 10

Thanks


UPDATE:


I was able to change the color, it looks like this now:



But when I change the toolbar, banner, whatever it's called here:



It looks like this when I select the skin:




What am I doing wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:04 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
The bitmap has alpha channel for transparency. You need to edit it using software that understands transparency, like Photoshop or Paint .NET.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:23 am
Posts: 3
Ivo wrote:
The bitmap has alpha channel for transparency. You need to edit it using software that understands transparency, like Photoshop or Paint .NET.



So it isn't just changing the "1 : 1033" bitmap to a different file with the same resolution (6x100)?

Here's what the original one looks like:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Yes, that's the correct resource. But it is a 32-bit bitmap with transparency. The blue bar you see is not the entire image. There is transparent border around it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:23 am
Posts: 3
Ivo wrote:
Yes, that's the correct resource. But it is a 32-bit bitmap with transparency. The blue bar you see is not the entire image. There is transparent border around it.



I'm dumb, lol... I got it working but now when I enable the caption in the settings the menu goes back to the default background color, and when I disable the caption it displays the correct color... Is there anything else I need to edit in resource hacker? The lines "Main_opacity=solid" and "Main_background=#C0C0C0" are still there, but why are they not working when the caption is enabled?

edit:

Never mind, I got it...

Thank you for putting up with my shit Ivo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.