It is currently Sat Sep 19, 2020 6:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:02 pm
Posts: 4
Excuse my lack of tech knowledge and skills. This has probably been answered before but I could not find anything related to it.

In short, I want the computer to hibernate but it restarts instead.

I have Windows 8.1 and LOVE (love, love) the Classic Shell start menu. I'm not sure the problem is a Classic Shell one, though; because it seems to occur after I do some, not all but some, Windows updates. Or, I've wondered, is the update resetting something in Classic Shell?

I don't want to have to power down completely when I know I'll be back on the machine in, say, 30 minutes.

Any thoughts?

Thanks mucho.

LM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Do you get the same behavior when you hibernate from the start screen?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:02 pm
Posts: 4
By "start screen" I hope you mean the screen that looks like the old Windows 7 menu, with the search field on the bottom left and then to the right of it is the "shut down," "hibernate," etc. commands. (Above the search field are the "all programs" button and then above it are the most commonly used programs.) This is the screen I routinely go to in order to shut down, hibernate, sleep, restart, etc. I don't think I know of any other way to shut down / hibernate / etc. other than from that menu. I suppose Windows 8 and 10 offer other ways -- but I am not familiar with them.

Bottom line: answer to your question is yes, I think.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:22 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
No, I mean the way you would hibernate if Classic Shell was not installed.
For example you can close all programs, click on the Desktop and press Alt+F4. This will show a dialog box with options to shut down. Hibernate should be one of them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:02 pm
Posts: 4
Ah, now I get it. I cannot remember that I have ever powered down from the Windows 10 screen> Give me a couple of days to do that and see what happens.

Thanks for your help.

LM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 52 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.