It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 4:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.

Post subject: Classic start menu
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 8:13 am 

Hey guys..
Could u help me in adding an image to the leftside of the start menu ...I'm new to this so any form of help
is appreciated also im using resource hacker.....:D

Post subject: Re: Classic start menu
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 8:06 pm 

Do you mean you want to add the user image to the left? If not, then what image and where exactly? A concept screenshot will help in understand what exactly you want.

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 10:14 pm 

Thanks for replying .... :D see this link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0BcmxmRaqY

for example on the start menu this guy gets an image on the blank side like a background image
I have added an image file just check it out the guy has a background image

Thanks .......

Attachments:
File comment: how do i do this
images.jpg
images.jpg [ 9.48 KiB | Viewed 48450 times ]
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 10:38 pm 

You need to edit Main_bitmap. Read the skin tutorial: http://www.classicshell.net/tutorials/s ... tml#slices and understand the slicing system. The middle part of the image is stretched to the size of the menu so you need an image that does just that.

Compare Start Menus

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 11:41 pm 

Could you just give me an example of the code pls