It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Clocks on all task bars?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:05 am
Posts: 2
Hi,

Long time user and fan of Classic Start Menu - without it, Windows 8.1 would be unbearable.

I recently got a second monitor. The task bar is showing up on both monitors, but the clock and system tray only shows up on the primary monitor, not the secondary.

Is there any way to get the clock to show on both monitors? The system tray doesn't bother me either way, but it would be fantastic to have the clock showing up on both. Is this possible? Why or why not?

Thanks for your time.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1849
With classic shell, no:
However http://www.displayfusion.com/
does have this feature, among many many others. It cost around 20$ though


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:05 am
Posts: 2
Is there a reason this feature is unavailable in Classic Shell?

Is it possible to make this feature available?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
No, Classic Shell does not yet incorporate a taskbar replacement. It's an enormous task to make one and no justification since there are other commercial but affordable products - DisplayFusion and Actual Multiple Monitors which add a taskbar for additional displays.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1849
Many reasons.. From the tremendous amount of effort such a feature would require, to the fact that to get such a feature, requires re-coding the taskbar from scratch (something display fusion only did, because there was 0 taskbar support on multi-monitor setups at the time of its creation)
Also This particular feature isnt in-line with what classic shell is currently working to accomplish.. (Just because it is multi-monitor aware, doesn't make it a multi-monitor solution)
Then theres the added complexity, and bugs that go along with replacing a core windows component...
So possible, not feasible..
(Also what Gaurav said)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
Check out T-Clock Redux for this feature: https://github.com/White-Tiger/T-Clock Windows 10 also has it I think but who wants to be stuck in the dreadful Windows 10 update hell?

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.