It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:28 pm
Posts: 1
Alright, I registered for this site because this has been bothering me around a month now and I have yet to find a solution.

Every time I right click to close a program, I get this look:



I just installed Classic shell for a friend of mine and his looks fine, nothing like this.

Does ANYONE have any idea if it's adware, something I installed, or what?

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
This is the jumplist for Skype. Classic Shell has no control over it.

Looks like the icons for Pin and Close are too big. Also the color scheme doesn't seem right. Do you by chance have a custom theme?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5351
That's a jumplist and it's not part of Classic Shell, it's part of Windows. You must be using a third party visual style (theme) which is why it looks like that. Themes (visual styles) must exactly match the OS version for which they were designed. e.g. Windows 8 themes won't look right on Windows 7. Windows 8.1 themes won't look right on Windows 8 either. Even Windows 8.1 Update 1 requires themes to be updated.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:14 am
Posts: 9
I also have the same problem but when I tried startisback & Start8 it fixes the jump list. I attached a screenshot of a working jumplist from using startisback


Attachments:
File comment: Jumplist from Classic Shell
Jumplist1.png
Jumplist1.png [ 70.02 KiB | Viewed 6399 times ]
File comment: Jumplist from startisback
Jumplist.png
Jumplist.png [ 33.84 KiB | Viewed 6399 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5351
Taskbar Jumplists are drawn by Windows. Classic Shell does no intentional modifications to taskbar jumplists or to the taskbar itself except adding a Start button to it and an option to make the taskbar opaque. Or do you mean this is a bug when Classic Start Menu is running?

You are using a custom/third party visual style which is why you might be seeing this.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:14 am
Posts: 9
Yes I'm using a custom theme. But startisback and Start8 fixes that problem as you see on my pictures and still use the same theme. I thought use would want to have compete with them


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5351
daveo76 wrote:
Yes I'm using a custom theme. But startisback and Start8 fixes that problem as you see on my pictures and still use the same theme. I thought use would want to have compete with them


If you uninstall Classic Shell (and the other menus as well), does the problem go away?

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:14 am
Posts: 9
No that problem only appears when using classic shell or no start menu. Only goes away when using startisback and Start8.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
OK, so then those programs are doing something, possibly inadvertently, to fix your problem. I have no idea what that might be. But in any case, it is not related to Classic Shell.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 9:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:14 am
Posts: 9
Thanks for replying. I didn't want to go to another start menu program as Classic Shell is the best. So instead I went looking for another Windows 7 theme that has the jumplist corrected. Since you told me it got to do with the theme makers. I found one that doesn't rely on other programs. If anyone has similar problem when using a windows 7 theme then go to http://damonkeyoncrack.deviantart.com/a ... -429412929. Also keep up the good work on Classic Shell. Also do use accept donations :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Closing Menu Glitch?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 9:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5351
daveo76 wrote:
Thanks for replying. I didn't want to go to another start menu program as Classic Shell is the best. So instead I went looking for another Windows 7 theme that has the jumplist corrected. Since you told me it got to do with the theme makers. I found one that doesn't rely on other programs. If anyone has similar problem when using a windows 7 theme then go to http://damonkeyoncrack.deviantart.com/a ... -429412929. Also keep up the good work on Classic Shell. Also do use accept donations :-)


Thanks. There is a Donate link on the home page.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.