It is currently Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please, keep discussions on topic and in the right forum. The start menu topics go into the Classic Start Menu forum, etc. This makes it easier for people to locate topics they are looking for.
If you get a satisfactory response to your question, please mark the topic as "solved". Click the green √ button in the bottom-right of the post.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:00 pm
Posts: 3
I've got a setup with three monitors running Windows 8.1 and Classic Start Menu 4.1.0.
My taskbar is set to auto-hide, and to show on all displays.
Classic Start Menu is set to show the start button only on the main screen.

When I press the Windows key while the mouse is visible on the main screen all is well: The taskbar is shown (with an animation) and when it is visible the Classic Start Menu gets fully shown.

When I press the Windows key while the mouse is visible on a secondary screen there is a problem: The taskbar gets shown with an animation on the secondary screen. But when it is visible, the start menu gets shown at the very bottom of the screen. As the task bar is visible it overlaps the start menu and the lower part is not visible.
If I now press the Windows key twice fast enough, the start menu vanishes on the first press and reappears on the second one without the task bar disappearing. This time the start menu aligns with the task bar and is fully visible.

On that account: Would it be possible to always show the start menu on the main screen? I'm a keyboard centric person and when pressing the Windows button it's just not intuitive to have the menu appear on different screens based on where I last used my mouse.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
You can turn off the setting "Show on all taskbars" in the Start Button tab. If only the main taskbar has a start button, the menu will show only there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Ivo wrote:
You can turn off the setting "Show on all taskbars" in the Start Button tab. If only the main taskbar has a start button, the menu will show only there.


That doesn't seem to be the behavior I am seeing with that option turned off. Win key still opens the Start menu on the monitor where the pointer is, even if the button is shown only on one monitor. Also, clicking in the empty taskbar area where the button was opens the Start Menu.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:00 pm
Posts: 3
Ivo wrote:
You can turn off the setting "Show on all taskbars" in the Start Button tab. If only the main taskbar has a start button, the menu will show only there.

If that were true I'd be happy, because that's what I want. But I can confirm the behavior GauravK describes: The Start menu always shows on the monitor where my mouse pointer is, even when opened by pressing the windows key. The buttons are not visible but there still is a clickable space that opens the start menu (for me that's not a problem).

I did reset all settings to defaults, changed just the settings "Replace Start button" and "Show on all taskbars", but still no cigar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:00 pm
Posts: 3
What else could I do to get this viewed at? Is there a Bug tracker? Or would it be helpful if I provided screenshots?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:08 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
I have made a note of the problem and will try to fix it for the next version. As of now there is no ETA on the next version. It will be after the next major update to Windows 8.1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The latest beta 4.2.0 fixes both problems.
If the start button is only on the main taskbar, then the start menu will show only there.
The start menu won't overlap with the auto-hide taskbar on secondary monitors.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.