It is currently Fri Jul 10, 2020 6:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 2:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 121
The font in the Classic Start Button option in Classic shell doesn't change with the theme the way the Windows 7 classic start button does. Is the next version of Classic Shell going to do that? And when I use Windows' Classic Button so that the text will change, the button doesn't have an active state. Is that a glitch? And the Windows Classic Start Button is locked to the top of the taskbar, where Classic Shell's is locked to center. I understand it has to be that way for aero themes, since the aero button is locked to the middle, but does it have to be that way for classic themes?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
I don't understand what you mean about changing the font with the theme. Windows 7 has only one Classic theme, therefore only one Classic button. There are no variations in the font.
The Classic button doesn't have a hot state, only normal and pressed, because classic buttons only have two states.
As for the centering, I chose to have a consistent behavior so people can freely mix and match themes with buttons.

If you want customized font (and customized centering), you need to create your own custom button. Add blank space around it to control how it is aligned to the taskbar.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5353
He probably means that when the Classic theme is set, and if you go to Advanced Appearance settings where you can edit window metrics and colors etc, if you change the "Active Title Bar" font, the font on the Taskbar (and the Windows Classic Start button's font) changes as well. This doesn't happen in case of Classic Shell's Classic button.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 6:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 121
"The Classic button doesn't have a hot state, only normal and pressed, because classic buttons only have two states." Yeah, but when I use Classic Shell with the classic theme applied, the Windows Classic Button doesn't have the pressed state. "When the Classic theme is set, and if you go to Advanced Appearance settings where you can edit window metrics and colors etc, if you change the "Active Title Bar" font, the font on the Taskbar (and the Windows Classic Start button's font) changes as well. This doesn't happen in case of Classic Shell's Classic button." Bingo. Any plans to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 8:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Ah, right. You are talking about the Windows 7's own start button: http://www.classicshell.net/faq/#menu_button
There are no plans to make the button change states. If you want custom behavior you need to create a custom button.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 12:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 121
"Ah, right. You are talking about the Windows 7's own start button: http://www.classicshell.net/faq/#menu_button
There are no plans to make the button change states. If you want custom behavior you need to create a custom button."

So since Windows 7's start button doesn't have the active state, all the more reason to make the Classic Shell equivalent behave more like it. Is there any way at all to make the font on the Classic Shell classic button change with the active title bar font? Or if not, can you make the font changeable from within Classic Shell? And if you were to do that, could you make Classic Shell be able to switch .xml configs based on the theme?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 3:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Sorry, No on pretty much all counts. These are such rare and niche features (particularly if you consider that the majority of users are running Windows 8+, and the ones on Windows 7 usually don't switch themes daily) and not easy to implement.
Your only practical option is to make a custom button.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 121
I just found out there's a way to automatically change themes in task scheduler with command line. Is there a way to tell Classic Shell to change xmls through command line, or some other way that would work with task scheduler so that it would change them both at once?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 4:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
You can change the settings in the registry, then exit the start menu (run ClassicStartMenu.exe -exit), then wait for a few seconds for it to finish closing, then run ClassicStartMenu.exe to get the menu back.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 6:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 121
Change what settings in the registry? I'm not seeing where in the registry Classic Shell stores what XML it's using. To be clear, I want to be able to switch Classic Start Menu Configuration XMLs entirely through command line, so I can use task scheduler to change the Windows Theme and the Classic Shell XML both at once. Exactly what command would I use?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The settings are kept in the HKCU\Software\IvoSoft\ClassicStartMenu\Settings registry key.
The value you need to set the start button is "StartButtonPath".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.