It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5049
Btw your skin is awesome! The background choosing feature along with the card color idea to quickly mask it with some color tint makes it brilliant!


Attachments:
Blu Ray.png
Blu Ray.png [ 629.01 KiB | Viewed 282 times ]

_________________
Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 846
Hello meetHG. I looked up your name. It means part of ice, or of the moon?

Yep, or Han jee. :)
The darkened mod I made was on purpose, from past experience with picture menus.
It is to avoid any possibility of having white background with white text, which is unreadable.
See my first picture skin, made before patterns feature (built into bitmap), with the tint option:

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2385

Even Win 10 does it when in tablet mode.

Your skin could be made so it will only do that if external picture, like on one of shpkong's modded skins. As that is where we have no control over what picture the person picks to use.
I forget which one. One of his V3 types.

It just takes more bitmaps put in to cover all the circumstances involved,
backed up with headers with AND, NOT, and OR combinations.

Aye, yes. So many variables that have to be taken into account, which leads to more confusion.
The headers need to be in a special order logically to work properly.
Really have to hunker down away from distractions, to figure it all out. :)

About using patterns instead of tint colors. When I was using tint colors, same as yours, there were certain conditons where I could not achieve dark grey borders. It blended in to same color below threshhold. The transparency to desktop background refused to get any darker. It was neat effect though. Same as other effect, where at one stage, I had the menu slit part as transparent, with the border boundaries totally opaque without any tint color.

I wish there was some in-skin-file option that could remove the glass color as strongly as in the CSM glass overide/opacity settings.

Anyway, you have gained a lot of knowledge now, and yay, Gaurav is helping you out now.
It is time for me to throw in the towel.
I don't think I can help you any further. You are now master apprentice. :)
I go back to my novice roots.
If there is something that you really need to get a good answer to,
maybe send a personal message directly to Ivo.

Bye.

I just deleted the blue ray file from previous post. Stopped it at 57 downloads.

I will download and try out your new revised skin tonight or tomorrow. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:44 am
Posts: 40
So, OK, I understand what you want to say but little confused.
My English can't be helped!!

So, I will do some settings as Gaurav pointed out.
Then, I will post the skin.
And Then, Some Testing by you and me.
And If it turn OK
Blue-Ray Will be released.

Bye. Have A good day.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:44 am
Posts: 40
Also, I see You learned a few words of Hindi.
शुभदिन (Have a nice day).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 846
Hi meetHG.

I provided a picture to explain better in a previous post when the boundary border would blend into nothing effect.
That is why I experimented with a black pattern image, to get a stronger darker border. Either way has good points.
If you want more solid, go the pattern way. For more ever-changing blending effect stick with your way.

Something else I was saying from before. It looks as though on your skin,
one can get the opaque border with transparent inner menu part,
by having "Glass Throughout" and "Show Background Card Color" turned on.



Don't take me as being mean for what I'm going to say.
I just have to pretend I'm trying out skin for first time.:)

The "Main Menu Transparency" settings are still a bit confusing to understand.
I don't know. Transparent what? Transparent borders if no image? Glass what?
Could a word be put beside to describe more. example "Transparent boundaries when activated"

or have them all setup with default neutral grey transparency values.
Think about it for awhile.
It's not really needed, but could make it easier to understand, and even more useful.
They could apply to all those transparency selections.
I put it in a text file. Feel free to use. If not appropriate, no sweat. :)


OK, back to other things now.

Because skin has so many options, it might be intimidating for user, the first time.
For default first time menu view, could have so black arrows show instead of white,
so everything matches and looks the best it can be:

from
OPTION WHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Main Menu",1
OPTION SUBWHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Submenus",1

to

OPTION WHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Main Menu",0
OPTION SUBWHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Submenus",0


At 144 dpi, the bigger arrows look ok. Maybe Gaurav is using an older skin version?

Here is something like Gaurav was talking about, that gets activated with touch screens,
to make the arrow area bigger, for finger tapping.


[TOUCH_ENABLED]
Main_split_arrow_padding=14,14,100%
Main2_split_arrow_padding=14,14,100%
Main2_text_padding=1,10,8,10,100%
Shutdown_arrow_padding=14,14,100%
Shutdown_text_padding=10,8,10,8,100%

Can practically make the menu into anything you want, using desktop wallpapers as menu image.
The only thing a user has to be aware of, is it draws from the top left corner, if English language.
Sometimes what looks like a wallpaper could look great, isn't, because wallpaper was so huge,
Only a small top left corner part of wallpaper image is seen.
The last screenshot picture is of MS wallpaper, by Adhemas Batista with your latest (not modified) skin .

What's next color picker separators? :)


Attachments:
Optional script for Main Transparency defaults.txt [1.62 KiB]
Downloaded 6 times
Border  difference .png
Border difference .png [ 153.82 KiB | Viewed 231 times ]
Latest HG skin with MS wallpaper.jpg
Latest HG skin with MS wallpaper.jpg [ 90.87 KiB | Viewed 231 times ]


Last edited by juniper7 on Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:44 am
Posts: 40
juniper7 wrote:
Hi meetHG.

I provided a picture to explain better in a previous post when the boundary border would blend into nothing effect.
That is why I experimented with a black pattern image, to get a stronger darker border. Either way has good points.
If you want more solid, go the pattern way. For more ever-changing blending effect stick with your way.


OK, I understand it. Yeah, I see that there is no distinction. Actually this is due to the fact that both the background card color and boundary color are same and being of same intensity in the Main_bitmap_mask, they just appear to be one. If you want to increase the border intensity, then increase the intensity of green channel.

juniper7 wrote:
Something else I was saying from before. It looks as though on your skin,
one can get the opaque border with transparent inner menu part,
by having "Glass Throughout" and "Show Background Card Color" turned on.


I noticed it. So, Should I do something?
juniper7 wrote:
Don't take me as being mean for what I'm going to say.
I just have to pretend I'm trying out skin for first time.:)

The "Main Menu Transparency" settings are still a bit confusing to understand.
I don't know. Transparent what? Transparent borders if no image? Glass what?
Could a word be put beside to describe more. example "Transparent boundaries when activated"

I now noticed it too. I will change the options to "Transparent Boundaries" And "Glass Boundaries" or something else to make it more descriptive.

juniper7 wrote:
or have them all setup with default neutral grey transparency values,
but switch to your regular bitmaps when color background/boundaries turned on.
It would mean extra bitmaps and text. Think about it for awhile.
It's not really needed, but could make it easier to understand, and even more useful.
They could apply to all those transparency selections.
See my mockup (houses) picture. The picture of menu showing transparency text is real. Other text & stuff added later.
EDIT: Woops.
That text for mod I think I made wrong.
Should probably be
[TRANS AND NOT (COLORBOUND OR COLORCARD)]



I don't understand the default neutral grey stuff. Please explain it.
I also noticed in the picture you have written tranparency (alpha values) in the Main_pattern_mask.
Again, i could not understand it. Is Alpha value in pattern mask and emblem mask not for 4th pattern/emblem contribution?

juniper7 wrote:
OK, back to other things now.

Because skin has so many options, it might be intimidating for user, the first time.
For default first time menu view, could have so black arrows show instead of white,
so everything matches and looks the best it can be:

from
OPTION WHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Main Menu",1
OPTION SUBWHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Submenus",1

to

OPTION WHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Main Menu",0
OPTION SUBWHITEARROW="Use White Arrows In Submenus",0


I understand it. Yeah, skin have many options. I will find a beautifull picture having light colors so that black arrows and black separators can be used as the default.
juniper7 wrote:
[TOUCH_ENABLED]
Main_split_arrow_padding=14,14,100%
Main2_split_arrow_padding=14,14,100%
Main2_text_padding=1,10,8,10,100%
Shutdown_arrow_padding=14,14,100%
Shutdown_text_padding=10,8,10,8,100%


Is it complete? That is Can I copy and paste in my skin without any modifications?
juniper7 wrote:
What's next color picker separators? :)

Color Picker separators. I don't understand. Is it Color pickers for the separators?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 846
Hello again

[Opaque border with transparent inner menu part.]
No, don't do anything. I like that effect.
I had that effect before too in my first mod of your skin way back.




[The "Main Menu Transparency" settings are still a bit confusing to understand.]

If Gaurav didn't say anything about it, leave it as is.
On the other hand, if you like to tinker, then different story. They can be made to have a preset grey color, similar to having the color picker enabled for a grey color. We talked about it before. I like to use real bitmaps to tweak it better, that's all. You could use all the same bitmaps you have already.
Just where the custom color picker is, replace with a real grey color #hex number.
I think it should work.


[I don't understand the default neutral grey stuff. Please explain it.]

Same as above. If new bitmaps are used, it just overrides the bitmaps before it.
Don't worry about it. Just forget my blabbering. I go on and on about nothing sometimes. :)



[The reset default view.]

The picture is beautiful already. Whatever you think looks good.
For myself I like all white text, separators, and arrows.
I was just showing the "1" will make the option show when skin is first used, or reset.




[Touch enabled text.]

Yes, copy and paste close to end of file.
You can verify if it works with Gaurav.




[What's next, color picker separators?]

A color picker for separators, yes.
Only joking, but as I said before, if you like to tinker, tinker away.


You know that is a beautiful blurred picture. It's big too, Works for 144 DPI.
Because of the blur, I can fantasize it to be all kinds of things,
a volcano blowing its top, a colorful sunset, or even Holi festival. :)

Good night.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:44 am
Posts: 40
OK, I will do as appropriate.

And Do Separators have a color mask?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 9:44 am
Posts: 40
Hi, Juniper


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 846
Hi.

Something like this


:black
Main_separator=7
Main_separator_tint1=#000000
Main_separator_mask=#FF0000
Main_separator_slices_X=1,23,1


:white
Main_separator=7
Main_separator_tint1=#FFFFFF
Main_separator_mask=#FF0000
Main_separator_slices_X=1,23,1




I want to check out some things Gaurav said about HiDPI.

I don't understand about icon frames in submenu?
See picture of search view. It looks ok. I did not do anything yet to paddings.


If I change what you have

Shutdown_text_padding=10,6,10,7
Shutdown_icon_padding=5,0,-5,0

to

Shutdown_text_padding=10,6,10,7,100%
Shutdown_icon_padding=5,0,-5,0,100%

The size will increase automatically with increase of DPI.
See picture. I think it would be a good idea to see where the ",100%"
are in the Metro skin, and copy over to your skin.


I see Main_text_padding=0,0,0,0
All other text padding have higher numbers.

I notice main font size is different. Is that what you want?
Main_font="Segoe UI",normal,-11
Main2_font="Segoe UI",normal,-9

Will get back to you later if you need anything.

Bye. :)


Attachments:
Icon frames at 144 DPI.png
Icon frames at 144 DPI.png [ 38.48 KiB | Viewed 176 times ]
increasing size with 100 percent added.png
increasing size with 100 percent added.png [ 23.42 KiB | Viewed 176 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 846
I'm guessing Gaurav may have the small icons setup in CSM to be instead of default 24 size for submenu at 144DPI,
that they are around 40 pixel size? That could be it!

Here is picture of submenu at 144DPI. of your latest skin. No changes to any paddings in submenu were made.


Attachments:
Submenu 144 DPI.png
Submenu 144 DPI.png [ 23.39 KiB | Viewed 169 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5049
My small icon size is 40, large icon size is 48. The DPI setting in Windows is set to 150% (DPI 144). Actual display PPI is 176 pixels per inch.

_________________
Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:07 pm
Posts: 846
OK, Gaurav. Wow. 176 . I'm surprised screen isn't blurry, if not divided evenly?

I think it's best if padding increased at least a tiny bit. I know meetHG likes everything tightly packed.

This could work:


Could increase just a little bit from

Submenu_icon_padding=5,0,0,0

to

Submenu_icon_padding=5,1,0,1,100%


Attachments:
adjusted.png
adjusted.png [ 16.71 KiB | Viewed 159 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.