It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:03 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 224
Is it possible to add an option to run Classic Shell without the resident ClassicStartMenu.exe process?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5310
Yes, technically it is possible, but makes some scenarios trickier - like handling restart of Explorer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 665
Ivo wrote:
Yes, technically it is possible, but makes some scenarios trickier - like handling restart of Explorer.

I'd like to note that not having Classic Shell autostart whenever explorer starts is actually desirable under certain circumstances - for example, I'm developing Start9 now, so the only time I want Classic Shell to run is when I tell it to :lol:

(...yes, there are other cases... ._. )

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5340
@Splitwirez, You can already have Classic Shell not autostart when Explorer starts by unchecking "Start automatically for this user" on General Behavior tab. Run it manually from C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\ClassicStartMenu.exe.

Of course, once it starts, the ClassicStartMenu.exe process will run consuming negligible amount of memory. It only keeps running to automatically launch the menu *if* Explorer restarts or crashes.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and Classic Shell tester.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 665
Gaurav wrote:
@Splitwirez, You can already have Classic Shell not autostart when Explorer starts by unchecking "Start automatically for this user" on General Behavior tab. Run it manually from C:\Program Files\Classic Shell\ClassicStartMenu.exe.

I've never found that that Setting reliably disables it...renaming ClassicStartMenu.exe and ClassicStartMenuDLL.dll to anything other than those names does though :lol:

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 224
Ivo wrote:
Yes, technically it is possible, but makes some scenarios trickier - like handling restart of Explorer.


I usually restart userinit.exe, not explorer.exe... Would be great to have a checkbox for not running with resident process.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.