It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Splitwirez wrote:
Numerous users wrote:


I apologize for the redundancy of this thread .-.

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Sorry, currently there are no plans to implement tiles in the foreseeable future. Live tiles are impossible (without reverse engineering and rewriting a large portion of the OS). Even dead tiles are a lot of work - people will want to add/remove/reorder/edit them dynamically.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Ivo wrote:
Sorry, currently there are no plans to implement tiles in the foreseeable future.

...figures .__.


Ivo wrote:
Live tiles are impossible (without reverse engineering and rewriting a large portion of the OS).

As with that other thread, I didn't think you'd try to make them Live...


Ivo wrote:
Even dead tiles are a lot of work - people will want to add/remove/reorder/edit them dynamically.

I think I might've already said this before...but what if you just displayed the Start Screen/Win10 menu inside of the space for tiles? Start8 does (did?) something similar to that, just without surrounding it in the rest of a menu.


EDIT: ImmersiveTaille ( http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS- ... ille.shtml ) resizes the Start Screen too .-.



...kfine, sorry to bother you .-.

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
It is not possible to display the start screen inside another window. It is using a completely different and incompatible technology.
Start8 simply finds the main window of the menu and resizes it. It doesn't mix two menus in a single UI. Besides, that trick only worked for Windows 8.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:09 pm
Posts: 692
Ivo wrote:
It is not possible to display the start screen inside another window. It is using a completely different and incompatible technology.
Start8 simply finds the main window of the menu and resizes it. It doesn't mix two menus in a single UI. Besides, that trick only worked for Windows 8.

...it's really that hard to put a left column in beside it? Huh...just when I thought my understanding couldn't be any more limited... O.o

_________________
TILES WOOOOOO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.