It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:33 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Monaco
Hi,

I did click on a language in the settings panel parameters and its didnt change the language in the settings panel... I was surprise. I went the website and found that you have to download a dll and install it yourself. Later someone told me that if you push the button "check for updates" it would download the dll... but does it install it ? And anyway its not clear at all that you need to download a dll and that "check for updates" will do it ! You just think that clicking on a language is enough ! Its not that user friendly.

I think would be better that when you select a language the dll would be automatically downloaded and installed !
Also the Classic Shell installer should know which windows language you are set to and would install automatically the good dll !

This would be more user friendly !

thanks to all for such a great software and work !
Xenus


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Pressing "Check for updates" will check if there is a new DLL for your version. If there is one, a download link will appear and all you have to do is click it.
Classic Shell doesn't install anything automatically. First, it is rude to the user, and second, it wastes bandwidth on my server, which I'm paying for.

The auto-update feature is intended to work like you describe. If your computer is set to Swedish and you install Classic Shell, then you will get a notification that a new update is available for your language. You click on the notification, then click on the Download button, and you will have the file. The update is currently broken though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
I think two improvements can be made so it is more clear to the user.
1. It can check automatically if the Languages tab of the Settings dialog is opened. In that case, the user should directly see the text "New update for language xx-XX is available. Click here to install it".
2. The button should say "Download and install language updates" instead of "Check for updates". 1 click should be enough to check and install it too.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:33 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Monaco
I see. Sound good to me ! :)

_________________
Fabien
"Let's make things simple. Faisons les choses simplement. :)"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Checking automatically every time you open the settings will put extra stress on the server that hosts the update files. Same for downloading the files automatically.
The best I can do is reuse the existing version information from the last check.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:33 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Monaco
Can't you do kind of random auto update check up ? So people would not auto update and auto install the dll in the same time ? May be it would be less stress for your server ?

_________________
Fabien
"Let's make things simple. Faisons les choses simplement. :)"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The update already happens at random time. But if it happens every time you open the settings dialog then it will still be quite frequent.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:33 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Monaco
oh! Ok I see... sound difficult...

_________________
Fabien
"Let's make things simple. Faisons les choses simplement. :)"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Ah in that case it's best to not check every time the dialog opens. There will be too many unnecessary checks causing server overload.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:33 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Monaco
Yeah, i also think not necessary to check the language version each time the settings panel is opened... The check should only occurs if the user go to the language panel... sound a bit better...

_________________
Fabien
"Let's make things simple. Faisons les choses simplement. :)"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Well the wording can definitely be improved if not anything else. "Check for language updates" is less confusing than "Check for updates" which may incorrectly make the user believe that it's a button to check for Classic Shell updates.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 11:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Well, you are on the Language tab. Of course it means "language updates".
There is no room for anything longer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
Yes but that's exactly what I pointed out when this feature was introduced in beta in some older 4.x version - that the user is still likely to think that it's a Check for Classic Shell updates feature :) and that's exactly what happened. The user may never click on the button. IMHO it has room for improvement. Something that conveys to the user more clearly e.g. "Install language pack".

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 12:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
In the new version 4.1.0 the user doesn't have to click on the button as long as auto-update is enabled. The information will be refreshed after the initial install and every week after that.
The button doesn't install anything, so calling it "install" is wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.