It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 2:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
I'd love to have an option to include the computer name. Either at the top or to the left. Would want it in addition to including the OS version, not replacing it. It would be helpful because I work on a lot of machines remotely and its good to have a reminder.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5352
%computername% is the environment variable you need to use. Just put it wherever you want. There are 3 places to put it - 'Menu caption', 'User name text' (both on Menu Look tab) and on the Start button tab, you can put %computername% in the 'Button tooltip'. If you want it in the caption including the OS name, just put the OS name followed by %computername%.

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 1981
you can specify a custom username text or menu caption in the "Menu Look" tab
ofcourse you would have to set the name for every computer individually, and the text may be to long to fit right, i agree though an option to automatically add the computer name would be helpful (along with showing the caption text with 2 columns, which is technically 3 columns :P, but the skin could handle things...)

**Looks like someone beat me to it, and with a better answer :P**


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:00 am
Posts: 18
Cool. For now I've set the user name text to %username%@%computername%. There's no variable for the operating system version, unfortunately, so I can't do the same with the left caption without hardcoding it. Which would be bad, because I've got a single settings.xml file that I'm using to configure all machines and some of them have different OSes. Would kind of rather have it on the left since the large font at top and single column (my preference) can cut it off for long user/computername combos.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.