It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:15 am 

Hey there, I'm an IT Technician for a Secondary School. After installing Windows 10 and trying (and failing) to customize the Windows 10 start menu via the xml file, we instead chose to try Classic Shell. The main thing we want to ensure is that our students cannot access system settings, program files and Windows Apps as well as adding a bit of colour and theming to it. Basically, we want to lock down the start menu, something which seems far too difficult in an education edition of Windows 10...

So far we've done this successfully via group policy and we really like the sheer quantity of different policies/options you get, it's really great. However we keep getting a constant issue whereby Classic Shell seems to be crashing Windows Explorer. Rarely, Windows does actually realize it has crashed and therefore restarts the process, however most of the time, explorer just freezes and you have to manually restart it via Task Manager. We've tried many many different things including:

- Reinstalling Classic Shell many times
- Installing ONLY Classic Start Menu without Classic Explorer/IE/Update
- Changing the policy settings - Removing all policies, just adding some policies, adding all the policies etc
- Disabling OneDrive - we saw a forum post that said this was causing issues, it has now been disabled completely (to no avail)