It is currently Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Before posting a bug report or a feature request, search the forum for an older post on the same topic. If you are reporting a crash, try capturing a crash dump. You can find instructions here: How to capture crash dumps



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:08 am
Posts: 8
I'm using Windows 7 with a Classic Theme, with visuals disabled. Classic shell is set to default settings (the ones that are set up when you install it)

How to replicate:
Click Start, then click Programs or Documents, then right click on the start menu button(the context menu appears), then left click away from the start menu somewhere on the desktop (anything but task bar or start menu). The context menu doesn't disappear. ->that's the problem

(if you don't click Programs or Documents, context menu disappear as it should)

According to the other programs in the task bar and system tray when you open the context menu from them and then left click away it should disappear.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 12:38 am
Posts: 5354
Thanks for reporting the bug. Do you have the Start button enabled on Windows 7? (check from the Start Button tab in Settings).

_________________
Links to some general topics:

Compare Start Menus

Read the Search box usage guide.

I am a Windows enthusiast and helped a little with Classic Shell's testing and usability/UX feedback.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:08 am
Posts: 8
GauravK wrote:
Thanks for reporting the bug. Do you have the Start button enabled on Windows 7? (check from the Start Button tab in Settings).


Yes of course, everything is on default.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Have you enabled the policy to disable all items on the desktop? I vaguely remember people having a similar problem after doing that. It's because this option makes the desktop basically unclickable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:08 am
Posts: 8
Ivo wrote:
Have you enabled the policy to disable all items on the desktop? I vaguely remember people having a similar problem after doing that. It's because this option makes the desktop basically unclickable.


No, it is not enabled, and desktop is clickable and working fine

Classic start menu was installed on a practically new system (win 7 professional - i bought it)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
Hm, Doesn't happen for me. So let's make this clear:
1) You click on the start button (it is the default Windows 7 start button, not the one from Classic Shell)
2) You click on Programs - the programs sub-menu appears
3) You right-click on the start button - the menu appears
4) You click on the Desktop - the menu doesn't disappear

Is this correct? On step 3 - Does the start menu disappear? Do you see Settings, Help and Exit in the right-click menu?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:08 am
Posts: 8
Ivo wrote:
Hm, Doesn't happen for me. So let's make this clear:
1) You click on the start button (it is the default Windows 7 start button, not the one from Classic Shell)
2) You click on Programs - the programs sub-menu appears
3) You right-click on the start button - the menu appears
4) You click on the Desktop - the menu doesn't disappear

Is this correct? On step 3 - Does the start menu disappear? Do you see Settings, Help and Exit in the right-click menu?


Yes,

Strange but now i can't replicate it; i am fairly sure it is a windows bug since i noticed this similar behavior on some menus not directly related to classic start menu. It rarely happens though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG Classic Shell © 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.