Classic Shell
http://classicshell.net/forum/

Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu
http://classicshell.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1180
Page 2 of 3

Author:  Splitwirez [ Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Jcee wrote:
>Pin games to the right
I actually thought about doing that the other day :P (below settings) But I already use rocketdock for all the games I actively play :P


Oh.

Well I did try rainmeter ( http://i.imgur.com/nUIhFAS.png ), but that just kept popping up whenever I needed it out of the way :lol:

Author:  Jcee [ Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Rainmeter works pretty good for non-dynamic things (desktop widgets ect) or with a reserved space on the side (like you had) but its not exactly designed for menu and popups.
You might have better luck with rocket dock, and specifically setting the 'popup delay' to prevent it from popping up the second your mouse hits the edge of the screen

Author:  Nimbi [ Fri Jun 17, 2016 1:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Here's my current setup :D

  • OS = Windows 10 TH2
  • Resolution = 1366x768
  • AeroGlass by BigMuscle
  • Theme = W10 Night by decagonal of DeviantART
  • iPack = Ashen by neiio of DeviantART
  • Rainmeter skin = minima Spotify by me (can be found on my DeviantART page Darkwater409.deviantart,com)
  • Start Menu program = Classic Shell (Beta version)
  • Start Menu skin = Metro Black 7style skin found here on Classic Shell forums
  • Taskbar image = W10 Night (a personal edit of the Windows 95 image found while surfing the Classic Shell forums)


Attachments:
2016-06-17 (1).png
2016-06-17 (1).png [ 499.07 KiB | Viewed 12644 times ]
2016-06-17.png
2016-06-17.png [ 784.29 KiB | Viewed 12644 times ]

Author:  Jcee [ Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

This is just me playing around, and half the icons in my start menu are just thrown in as filler (and all but the top row link back to 'my computer')

I call it the Calculator start menu :P

Attachments:
CalcMenu.jpg [180.67 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

Author:  Nimbi [ Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Jcee wrote:
This is just me playing around, and half the icons in my start menu are just thrown in as filler (and all but the top row link back to 'my computer')

I call it the Calculator start menu :P



That's actually not too shabby. Nice job on that one. :D

Author:  Jcee [ Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Yea; Im actually liking this layout, because you can use keyboard navigation quite easily.


Update: Spent some more time on it today making it fully functional. and throwing most of the programs I use regularly into it. Im still undecided on If I should keep recent programs/documents. On one hand they really help to divide the menu more clearly(making it easier to navigate), and are quite useful; On the other the menu kinda looses its charm when its divided up. Im also deciding on populating the left column or not :P (If-not Ill edit the skin to properly 'remove' it)

Attachments:
NewMenu.jpg
NewMenu.jpg [ 61.36 KiB | Viewed 12541 times ]

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu


"I accidentally Darkspore my Windows 8.1"
_____-Splitwirez, regarding his recent inexplicable urge to Darkspore his Windows 8.1

Menu actually isn't mine, but the button and everything else is (except the Visual Style bits I haven't edited yet, but I just started on this style today, so there's a lot of those, please cut me some slack on it :lol: )

Author:  Jcee [ Sun Jun 26, 2016 4:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Nice :) This rainmeter skin might go nicely with your layout (or atleast somewhere to advertise your theme/skin if you wanted) http://jestjoy11.deviantart.com/art/Rainmeter-Hud-Digital-with-lightning-spark-284084510

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Jcee wrote:
Nice :)

Thanks :3

Jcee wrote:
This rainmeter skin might go nicely with your layout (or atleast somewhere to advertise your theme/skin if you wanted) http://jestjoy11.deviantart.com/art/Rainmeter-Hud-Digital-with-lightning-spark-284084510

Ehh...idk, doesn't really look like Darkspore to me.

...you remember that whole Darkspore Start Menu Skin contest thing, right? How we were all tearing into the Darkspore UI images I'd uploaded and making skins from them? This is just more of that, but across the entire OS :lol:

Author:  Jcee [ Sun Jun 26, 2016 1:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Yea, looking at it a second time, it isnt quite as dark spore-ish as I thought :P I was just keeping with the neon blue idea, and figured if your going all out, you should have something on the desktop too :P

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sun Jun 26, 2016 2:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Jcee wrote:
Yea, looking at it a second time, it isnt quite as dark spore-ish as I thought :P I was just keeping with the neon blue idea, and figured if your going all out, you should have something on the desktop too :P


Oh, okay. I might...but if I'm going to do anything with Rainmeter, it's going to be custom build from Darkspore UI textures, just like the Visual Style and Start Menu.

Author:  Nimbi [ Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Mah current setup,

Attachments:
2016-07-17 (1).png
2016-07-17 (1).png [ 1.63 MiB | Viewed 12292 times ]
2016-07-17.png
2016-07-17.png [ 1.81 MiB | Viewed 12292 times ]

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sun Jul 17, 2016 6:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu


Author:  Nimbi [ Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Here's the screenshot I promised. Apparently the Starcraft Zerg skin is designed for a much larger screen resolution than mine, so most of the icons and folders don't show up for me [i'm on 1366x768]. But it does however go very good with the Starcraft theme I found. I'll have to post a link to the page with that .deskthemepack as soon as I can. The show username feature wouldn't work properly for me, but I'm assuming that was also due to me having a smaller screen resolution than what this skin requires. All-in-all, here's the screenshot.

Attachments:
Starcraft Theme Screenshot.png
Starcraft Theme Screenshot.png [ 1.92 MiB | Viewed 12268 times ]

Author:  Jcee [ Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

>Apparently the Starcraft Zerg skin is designed for a much larger screen resolution than mine, so most of the icons and folders don't show up for me.

Skins are for the most part should be resolution/dpi Independent.. (I have no Idea why the google chrome Icon overlays, but since I have the issue too (just tested) I would guess its because of the classic shell version) Nor do I know why the scroll button is displayed, when you still have screen real estate above the menu (I don't think I put that much padding above the menu but maybe)

I made the Zerg skin quickly and it was relatively un-polished so things like the user-name wont work properly unless you make the right column wider for a longer username :P

Now with all the new features; It could probably be re-made much better :P (though I've really stepped back from skinning on classic shell)

Author:  Nimbi [ Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

ya i pluged my tv into my laptop and tested it on 1920x1080, most of it fits fine on that res, but the username part is apparently too small for my long-ass username, lol. It substitutes my username with 3 white dots, lol. Either way, i simply wanted to show it off as being used with the starcraft theme i found, lol. [basically in case someone liked it and wanted to match things even further with their own custom taskbar for it, lol.] personally i'm sticking with the PS3 theme style im on. just waiting for the taskbar and start menu request i made in the start menus skins area to be responded to again, lol. Someone there has decided to make them for me, lol. i've also noticed the zerg skin doesnt have the option to choose small icon images in the main menu, it uses a single siez no matter what. im thinking thats the main issue with that area. im accustomed to smal icons so it makes them bigger than what i accustomed to, lol.

Author:  SketchAnimations2 [ Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

The programs I used are Classic Shell and Rainmeter.
The Wallpaper is one from Nintendo.
The Start Menu skin is XP Classic Retro.
The Start Button is a custom with the help of juniper7.
The Taskbar Skin is also a custom.
The Icons Except for Sonic and Tails are actually in the system itself!
My OS is Windows 10 (before the anniversary update).
I'm also using a Dual Monitor setup.

Attachments:
WOWIE SANS.png [904.61 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

Author:  juniper7 [ Tue Jul 19, 2016 10:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Hi SketchAnimations2

Great looking taskbar mod, there in your screenshot.

Author:  Nimbi [ Tue Jul 19, 2016 11:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

SketchAnimations2 wrote:
The programs I used are Classic Shell and Rainmeter.
The Wallpaper is one from Nintendo.
The Start Menu skin is XP Classic Retro.
The Start Button is a custom with the help of juniper7.
The Taskbar Skin is also a custom.
The Icons Except for Sonic and Tails are actually in the system itself!
My OS is Windows 10 (before the anniversary update).
I'm also using a Dual Monitor setup.


very nice! can you please link the media player skin you have on your taskbar?

Author:  Splitwirez [ Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

JoshuaL2 wrote:
very nice! can you please link the media player skin you have on your taskbar?


That's the default Windows Media Player skin.

Author:  Nimbi [ Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Splitwirez wrote:
JoshuaL2 wrote:
very nice! can you please link the media player skin you have on your taskbar?


That's the default Windows Media Player skin.



hmmmmm... i don't seem to have that one. mine are all just fancier windows. i don't have one like that one.

Author:  Splitwirez [ Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

JoshuaL2 wrote:
Splitwirez wrote:
JoshuaL2 wrote:
very nice! can you please link the media player skin you have on your taskbar?


That's the default Windows Media Player skin.



hmmmmm... i don't seem to have that one. mine are all just fancier windows. i don't have one like that one.


That's because you need to copy over a DLL from Windows Media Player 11 in order to re-enable the WMP Taskbar Toolbar as shown :lol:
You can find a tutorial here.


Also uh

There's my current desktop and Start Menu setup thingy ._.

Author:  Nimbi [ Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

@Splitwirez

Sweet! Thanks so much! :D

Author:  Nimbi [ Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Mah new setup. Thanks so much to Splitwirez for making the start menu, tasbar, and start orb for me.

Attachments:
2016-07-20 (2).png
2016-07-20 (2).png [ 320.84 KiB | Viewed 12181 times ]
2016-07-20 (1).png
2016-07-20 (1).png [ 395.52 KiB | Viewed 12181 times ]

Author:  Splitwirez [ Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu


Progress amirite

Author:  Anixx [ Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Win 8.1:


Author:  Splitwirez [ Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu


Fweeeeee :V

Author:  MamBa [ Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

JoshuaL2 wrote:
Here's the screenshot I promised. Apparently the Starcraft Zerg skin is designed for a much larger screen resolution than mine, so most of the icons and folders don't show up for me [i'm on 1366x768]. But it does however go very good with the Starcraft theme I found. I'll have to post a link to the page with that .deskthemepack as soon as I can. The show username feature wouldn't work properly for me, but I'm assuming that was also due to me having a smaller screen resolution than what this skin requires. All-in-all, here's the screenshot.



I like this one! It`s epic!

Author:  Murkle_The_Master [ Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop using Classic Shell!

Vorbis wrote:
it seems i'm the first person to post here in a month, so here you go


How did you get transparent title bars? I like what you have going there!

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop using Classic Shell!

Murkle_The_Master wrote:
How did you get transparent title bars? I like what you have going there!


http://glass8.eu/

Author:  Splitwirez [ Thu Nov 10, 2016 8:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu


I accidentally 9841'd my 9600 :lol:

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sun Nov 20, 2016 2:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu


Start Menu hasn't changed since the last shot of Reflect, hence its absence, but meeh, VS improvements :lol:

Author:  Splitwirez [ Thu Nov 24, 2016 5:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu



There, now there's an actual menu to see :lol:

Author:  juniper7 [ Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

I don't know how to make a scrollbar like that.
I thought it had to be symetrical at each end.
Are there overlay emblems at the ends?

The curves around the shutdown area look refined now. Nice.

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

juniper7 wrote:
I don't know how to make a scrollbar like that.
Wasn't hard...bit hacky, but not hard...

juniper7 wrote:
I thought it had to be symetrical at each end.
It is symmetrical.

juniper7 wrote:
Are there overlay emblems at the ends?
No, I used the arrow glyphs :lol:

WAIT, THERE'S A WAY TO MAKE EMBLEMS NOT ALWAYS VISIBLE!? O.0.o

juniper7 wrote:
The curves around the shutdown area look refined now. Nice.
:mrgreen:

Author:  juniper7 [ Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

I started to figure arrows were the only way, before lights out.

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

juniper7 wrote:
I started to figure arrows were the only way, before lights out.


Oh, okay :lol:

Author:  juniper7 [ Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Splitwirez

On your transparent plexy theme.
It's a nice touch to have user picture way over on left side of 7 style menu, with the large offset.
Wish there was some way to stop it wandering around.
Stay boy, stay, stay. Good little picture.

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

juniper7 wrote:
On your transparent plexy theme.
Plexcellent.


juniper7 wrote:
It's a nice touch to have user picture way over on left side of 7 style menu, with the large offset.

Wasn't even my idea tbh...it was from an official Microsoft concept :lol:

juniper7 wrote:
Wish there was some way to stop it wandering around.
Yeah, me too :/


juniper7 wrote:
Stay boy, stay, stay. Good little picture.
...remind me to include an option to put legs on the frame :lol: (jk, ofc)


(also on a completely unrelated note, you caught mention of the upcoming Windows 10 edition a friend of mine is developing, correct?)

Author:  juniper7 [ Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: upcoming Windows 10 edition

No, Splitwirez . What's that? A theme, or start menu?

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: upcoming Windows 10 edition

juniper7 wrote:
No, Splitwirez . What's that? A theme, or start menu?
If you're referring to the mention of Plexcellent Windows 10 edition, it's a Visual Style which comes with a Start Menu, among other things. However, the Start Menu itself will be the same between the Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 editions.

Author:  Splitwirez [ Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu




Author:  juniper7 [ Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Is this reality, or is the probe still in our brain?

Author:  Splitwirez [ Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

juniper7 wrote:
Is this reality, or is the probe still in our brain?


It's reality. The only person with something in their brain is me, and it's just AutoHotKey :lol:

Author:  SketchAnimations2 [ Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Here I am again!
The taskbar is unchanged aside from the color to match the start menu.
I used 7+ Taskbar Tweaker to add seconds to clock and other things.
The wallpaper comes from here:
http://default-deviant.deviantart.com/a ... -242460634

Attachments:
oh2.png [1.88 MiB]
Not downloaded yet
oh.png [2.72 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

Author:  AcroGen [ Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Here's mine :D:
I made the background and the taskbar. The start button flips from the white logo to the coloured one.

Attachments:
2017-01-14.png
2017-01-14.png [ 1.88 MiB | Viewed 7244 times ]
2017-01-14 (1).png
2017-01-14 (1).png [ 1.7 MiB | Viewed 7244 times ]

Author:  NoahNicholsFourm [ Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Another screenshot. I now use Imgur.
http://i.imgur.com/WI6oDkw.png

Author:  Splitwirez [ Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Interesting taskbar.

k my turn

(Start Menu is unchanged, hence my not bothering to take a new screenshot with it included)

Author:  NoahNicholsFourm [ Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

Is that how the disk bar looks when it's not almost full? Is your disk almost full?

Author:  Splitwirez [ Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Show your desktop and Classic Shell Start Menu

NoahNicholsFourm wrote:
Is that how the disk bar looks when it's not almost full? Is your disk almost full?


It's blue when you have a reasonable amount of free space. I just happen to be perpetually stuck in a storage crisis :lol:

...please tell me that's not the only thing you noticed ;~;

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/